Confessions of an eccentric child

Standard

Soooo, Lately I’ve been very captivated by “primitive/folk/raw” art.

Art that looks like a child did it.  Art that is creepy cute and very rough/messy.  Art that you really don’t have to be able to draw to do.  RIGHT UP MY ALLEY!   So, in my quest to teach myself how to draw, I happened upon some really talented, colorful, “primitive” artists.

You saw a piece in my last post from one of my favorites Mindy Lacefield.

Here are a few more of her prints I have in my home…

Mindy

I plan to sign up to take her online course called “Paint Your Story” in a few days.  I am very excited about that!  She seems to be an amazing teacher.  I believe that we all have a story inside that is dying to make it onto paper, either by writing or through art. (or a combo of both) – So, I’m excited to start getting mine out!

So…then in following and watching Mindy I come across Juliette.  Juliette Crane.  She’s another amazing artist who has inspired me.  Check her out HERE

I got a sketch book for Christmas, have been playing around a little.  Came up with this sketch when i was looking at Juliette’s stuff.  Just playing…being free…scribbling…

First Sketch

Then I went to Michaels and bought some cheap oil pastels (like crayons) and decided to color – just like a child coloring in a coloring book.  Too FUN!

Colored sketch

Then…someone said that this would be great on a canvas.  So…I decided to make a “proper” art piece out of my bizarre bear.  By the way, his name is “Brave Heart”

3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Final

Things learned through this piece:

1.  I am still a child at heart and I love letting that child out.  I need to be brave and not fear being child like.  Life is so serious most of the time and I don’t like it.  Not one little bit.

2.  I love coloring and coloring boldly.  Color makes my heart leap.  I used to wear only black.  What in the world was I thinking?  I’m embracing color…the more color the better.  Such a mood changer.

3.  So glad that ART (like beauty) is in the eye of the beholder! Somewhere out there someone…somewhere thinks you are simply beautiful and your art is too!

And…P.S.  I’m really not getting all new agey, touchy, feeley, yoga, granola eating, metaphysical, creepy, or anything like that.  Promise.  hahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!

Until next time…blessings,

Michelle

Don’t forget to LIKE TeaBags And Gardenias on Facebook!

CLICK HERE!!!

2 responses »

  1. I adore the finished piece. Brave Heart looks quite at home in the wonderfully magical landscape you created for him. I’m so happy to hear you’ve been having fun with color and with your amazing ART!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

