“Keep It Simple Sinner!”

Standard

So…its been a little while since I wrote anything or shared anything about our faith. I’ve been so wrapped up with my business, my artwork and the new website that my writing seems to be centered mostly on those things. And honestly, my spiritual life and prayer life has suffered a bit.

Guess what? Ash Wednesday is this week. Can you believe it? It’s my absolute favorite time in the church liturgical year. I like it more than Advent and even Christmas. People often ask me why I always look so forward to Lent. Well, to me, its my time to “go deep.” My time to fast, pray and concentrate on discipline. To do penance and regroup.

This year I happened upon an article on Pinterest that really spoke to me. It was published by “Our Sunday Visitor.” The article is called Keeping it simple this Lent with Father Jim’s 1-1-1 Plan. To read this article click HERE.

Lent begins on Ash Wednesday, February 13, 2013

KISS – Here’s a helpful acronym to help you stay focused during Lent:

Keep • It • Simple • Sinner

(I LOVE that!)

I will be doing this 1-1-1 plan! Want to join me?

4 responses »

  1. I can’t believe Ash Wednesday is already (almost) here! I’m in RCIA, so I’m particularly excited about Lent and the upcoming Easter Vigil. This is my first time participating in Lent, and I will get confirmed at the Easter Vigil this year. Even more wonderful is that my daughter (who is in 4th grade) will be baptized, confirmed, and celebrate her first communion at Easter, too!

    I’m not sure if “joyful” is a proper way to enter Lent — I’m still working on figuring that one out. But I feel particularly blessed this year. And especially thankful for many graces in my life. 🙂

    • I read this and got tears in my eyes. I have sponsored many into the church through RCIA. I love converts! They are the best Catholics! I will be praying for you and remembering you and your family during this Lent as I feel a special kinship with you! So excited for you pishnguyen!

      And yes, JOY is totally acceptable! In the article, this is what he said:

      Season of joy

      Lent is a time of sacrifice and discipline, but it should not be a time of sadness. Instead it should be a season of great joy. The first Preface for the Mass in Lent clearly reminds us of this:

      For by your gracious gift each year
      your faithful await the sacred paschal feasts
      with the joy of minds made pure.

      As Christians we are stirring up our faith and love for God and each other so that, on Easter, we are ready to meet the risen Lord refreshed and restored.

      • Thank you so much for your thoughts and prayers. I am so excited about every aspect of Lent and all of the different rites leading up to the Easter Vigil. Plus, it’ll continue to be a blessing in future years, as I hope I will look back and remember / recapture my excitement and joy.

        I went back and read the article again, too. Thank you so much for posting the link. I enjoyed what it said about how Lent should be a time of joy and excitement. It makes perfect sense to me, although, from the outside, it might seem that Lent should be a “sad” season. I’m not sure if I’m expressing this correctly or in a way that makes any sense. Sorry about that.

        I was raised in a Protestant denomination / faith (Baptist), and we never celebrated Lent. I love the idea of discipline and sacrifice bringing me closer to God and to the joy in my own heart. I feel that Lent (as Advent did, during the Christmas season) will bring a much deeper and more beautiful meaning to my faith and worship. So, I am definitely approaching it with a joyful heart and spirit.

        Thank you again for your kind comment and for your prayers. And, also, for your wonderful blog! I’m so happy to have found it. 🙂

  2. Yes. The start of the Lent is this week and me and my family are ready for it. I’m excited about sharing the story of Jesus to my kids again, religious movie marathons, fasting, and praying with the family. We are looking forward to it because it makes us feel a little closer to God again.

Leave a Reply

