Dear Mom…

Standard

…Today is January 17 – a year ago today, Simba died.  I wanted to write you because I know this day was so very hard for you.  It was hard for all of us but, I will never forget you sitting at the table looking at him lying on the floor and us just sobbing.  Wishing you could get on the floor and lay by him an hold him.  I can see it and feel it as if it all happened yesterday.

I have your calendar.  I look at it often.  I love seeing your hand writing.  It was so pretty.  It’s as if you speak to me when I look at what you wrote.  You tracked EVERYTHING.  And I mean EVERYTHING.  I guess that is where I get it from.  You tracked birthdays, anniversaries, when you had doctor’s appointments, when you had surgeries, when we moved into this house and how long we’ve been here, when we got the granite counter tops, when we got the washer/dryer, when your kidneys failed, when you started dialysis, when you started medicines.  AND…when your baby Simba died.  On that day, you wrote “SIMBA DIED” and there is a big sad face.  It was a terrible day.  Was he waiting for you at the Rainbow Bridge?  I just know he was!  He loved you so very much!  I know he’s right by your side following you everywhere and I am very comforted by that.  We love you and miss you so much Mom!  I look at that picture of you lying on the couch and Simba lying right by your side and even though I don’t smile now…maybe one day I will with happy memories.  The votive candle is lit in memory of you both today!

…For just at that instant, their eyes have met; Together again, both person and pet.  So they run to each other, these friends from long past, the time of their parting is over at last.  The sadness they felt while they were apart has turned into joy once more in each heart.  They embrace with a love that will last forever, and then, side-by-side, they cross over…together.

One response »

  1. This made me cry for all of you. I enlarged the picture and it was so heartbreaking. My prayers are with and for you. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

