The Most Important Person On Earth

Standard

Today is the Feast of the Immaculate Conception.  The belief Catholics have that Mary our Mother, the Mother of God was conceived without Original Sin and remained sinless forever.  Would God have chosen an ordinary person stained with sin and with blemish to be the tabernacle for his Son?  Absolutely not.  So, today we celebrate Her.  Today’s 9 am mass was also offered for my amazing mother.  It was absolutely beautiful.  This picture below is an oldie but goodie.  It’s one of the most favorite pictures that I have and I treasure it.  Even though you can barely see her on the right, there’s our mom just looking down on all of us with love – content having us together and watching her 3 hearts sleep.  She loved us so much and we loved her immeasurably!  We really miss you mom!A month after mom died, I went into our local Catholic Bookstore.  I was very weepy that day and could barely speak.  The owner of the shop is a sweet woman who knew us.  I was suffering and she gave me a holy card.  She put it in the bag with the other things I purchased.  Until recently I could not bring myself to read the card.  It’s so wonderful I wanted to share it with all of you:

The Most Important Person on Earth

THE most important person on earth is a mother.  She can not claim the honor of having built Notre Dame Cathedral.  She need not.  She has built something more magnificent than any cathedral – a dwelling for an immortal soul, the tiny perfection of her baby’s body.  “The angels have not been blessed with such a grace.  They cannot share in God’s creative miracle to bring new saints to Heaven.  Only a human mother can.  Mothers are closer to God the Creator than any other creatures.  God joins forces with mothers in performing this act of creation…”What on God’s good earth is more glorious than this:  to be a mother?” – Joseph Cardinal Mindszenty

One response »

  1. I love this picture. I love the relationship you and your mom shared. And what a great blessing for the lady at the bookstore to give you such precious words!

Leave a Reply

