Happy 92nd Birthday Grandpa!

Standard

Painting by my Uncle Dale

“The inspiration for that painting, the closed eyes and tilt of my dad’s head, was taken from a photo of dad holding Stephen and giving him a hug.”

. . . and, when he shall die,
Take him and cut him out in little stars,
And he will make the face of heaven so fine
That all the world will be in love with night,
And pay no worship to the garish sun.
– Romeo & Juliet, Act 3; Scene 2

My Grandpa would have been 92 years old today.  I often wonder how things would have turned out if he would not have died when he was only 50 years old.  How would my family dynamic have been different?  I miss him.  I never really knew him.  I only know what I’ve been told and some sweet memories of him that I have.  He was an amazing man.  He was a devout Catholic and loved the Lord.  He loved his children and his wife.  He sang the Ave Maria like an angel.  He was very loved in our small city of Niles, Ohio.  He had a great reputation and was very well respected.  Tons of people came to his funeral.  He left his loving wife and 7 children behind – Joseph (my dad), Michael, Karen, Dale, John, Paul and Stephen.  Their lives were never the same.  Death is cruel to those left to deal with the loss and grief.  It still hurts to this day.  May his memory live on in all of us and may we honor that memory by the lives we live!  R.I.P. Grandpa!  Eternal rest grant to him oh Lord and may the perpetual light shine upon him.  May his soul and all the souls of the faithful departed by mercy of God rest in peace!

One response »

  1. That was beautiful. He was all those things and more. I’m very jealous of my older three siblings that they knew hoim as the man he was. Us last four didn’t really get to know him like they did. I also wonder so much how different our family would have been with hom around us each day. I also wonder what affect he would have had on me growing up. I miss him and talk every day of my life to him still 42 years later. I miss u daddy. Love u always johnny. Your always in my heart

Leave a Reply

