Advent Begins Sunday!

Standard

The first Sunday of Advent is this coming Sunday.  I know, I know, it’s hard to believe, my year has totally flown by.  Today we’re celebrating Thanksgiving and pretty soon we’ll be saying hello to 2011.  So, being as there are still a few days left before Advent starts, I was reflecting on what I was going to do to make this Advent special.  I’ve never really “done” Advent very well.  I’m a great Lent “doer” as a matter of fact Lent is my favorite time of year.  I really enjoy everything about Lent.  I know, it sounds crazy but I gain much more than I ever give up during Lent.

I feel like I fall short with Advent. I really want to have a good Advent and was brainstorming and praying about what to do.  I did some Googling and came up with this:

http://www.usccb.org/advent/

It’s the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops website and they’ve created a comprehensive Advent and Christmas season interactive site.  I am so excited about this!  Simply click on the advent calendar date and the site takes you to the readings for the day, a prayer, a reflection and an “act.”  What are you going to be concentrating on this Advent?  What do you want to meditate on or do to anticipate the birth of our Lord, our Baby Jesus?

One response »

  1. Thanks Michelle for the link to the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops website. I checked it out and will be using it this Advent.

Leave a Reply

