St. Andrew Novena Starts Today!

Standard

Good Morning!  Happy Friday!  I am re-posting this entry from last year.  I am going to pray this Novena once again and invite you to join in.  When I think back to this time last year, it was mostly a blur.  All I really remember is grief, sadness, sorrow and being in a daze because we had just lost my mother. BUT, I do remember praying this novena. I actually kept my prayer sheet and looking back, this Novena helped me when I was at my lowest.  It comforted me, it made me be proactive, it made me think of other people, it brought me back to a routine.  I remember it was the first time I didn’t have to pray for my mother to be healed. Instead, as hard as it was, I prayed for her soul.

So, here it is:

I was invited to pray the St. Andrew Christmas Novena this year.  Wanted to invite you to do so also.   The St. Andrew prayer is a special “Christmas Novena” which is prayed every day from November 30th (today on the Feast Day of St. Andrew) until Christmas. Everyone has special intentions and petitions that need prayer and also prayers of thanks for something special that God has already answered. I can’t think of a more beautiful way to spend the Christmas season. It is OK to enjoy the spirit of the season with gifts, decorating and baking…but we must never lose sight of what this time of year is really all about.

The prayer must be said 15 times a day. You can say the prayer all at once; or divide up through the day.

Saint Andrew Christmas Novena
Hail and blessed be the hour and moment in which the Son of God was born of the most pure Virgin Mary, at midnight, in Bethlehem, in piercing cold. In that hour, vouchsafe, O my God! to hear my prayer and grant my desires {state your intention(s) here}, through the merits of Our Savior Jesus Christ, and of His Blessed Mother. Amen.

(It is piously believed that whoever recites the above prayer fifteen times a day from the feast of St. Andrew (30th November) until Christmas will obtain what is asked.)

Imprimatur
+MICHAEL AUGUSTINE, Archbishop of New York
New York, February 6, 1897

God Bless you, and Merry Christmas!

Definition of VOUCHSAFE

transitive verb
1 a : to grant or furnish often in a gracious or condescending manner b : to give by way of reply <refused to vouchsafe an explanation>
2 : to grant as a privilege or special favor
One response »

  1. thank you Michelle. Ive been praying this novena every year for at least 17 yrs. My husband introduced me to this. Ive only heard it, never seen it in print; and I never knew what word (vouchsafe) I was saying or what it meant. thx. Sorry about your mom. This season must be hard for you. Prayers of peace to you.

Leave a Reply

